Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Oldman’s HZ Sandman panel van

Learner Driver

My Oldman’s HZ Sandman panel van

Hello everyone my name is Anthony, I’m new to mysandman.com, but I’ve probably met a few members at past NSW All Holden Days. I thought I’d share with you MySandman story.

It was sort of an accident to him owning it. He is an electrical contractor and 36 years ago he had ordered and put a deposit down at Suttons Arncliffe, Sydney, on an optioned out 308 kingswood wagon with the purpose to be used as a work car. Deep down he wanted a Sandman but thought a wagon would be more practical. It was December and the dealer told him there would be a bit of a wait for delivery, anyway the dealer had a Flamenco red, 253, 4 speed, with black 18v trim Sandman in stock and he said stuff it I’ll take the van!

He has owned it ever since and up until about 4 years ago it was used daily as a work van, and is now not used daily but still driven quite regularly. The van has never officially had a respray but having done over 925,000 kms, of course panels have needed to be touched up and pieces have been re-trimmed. The van did come with full decal set, however tailgate one was removed early on and then the side stripes taken off, the decals on the guards still remain. Dad tells me by the late 70s early 80s everyone was taking them off. For years the van has had side protector stripes, and everyone tells him to take them off and put the stripes back on!

The van is still running with the original 253 block and transmission. From what I know the diff was upgraded I think to 3.08 ratio, a Holley carburettor was put in and a hydraulic clutch. Other than that everything else is original.