Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Spongy brakes???

Cruiser

Spongy brakes???

I went to adjust the brakes on the van yesterday and found them to be really, really spongy. I have a new master cylinder (thats been bled)....new pipes, new hoses (no leaks in either) new front rotors, rebuild calipers and new pads. The rear has new wheel cylinders, linings and drums.
    I bled the system again and nipped up the rears....still spongy and the pedal almost hits the floor.
    The only bits I haven't replaced are the pedal and booster.

Any thoughts?????
    Last edited by GTS; 22-08-2011 at 02:39 PM.

Sandman Guru
    What was your bleeding procedure?

What type of master cylinder (metal or plastic reservoir)?

Cruiser
    All alloy master cylinder. Bled L/H Front then R/h front....L/H rear then R/H rear.

rear wheel cylinders in hq to hz are different to wb for what its worth...spongy is usually not the booster... is it running the hq hj booster with the hq hj pedal as hx hz booster and pedal are different so if you mix a hqj booster with a hxz pedal it does not align and vice versa.

--- Updated ---

Quote Originally Posted by GTS View Post
    All alloy master cylinder. Bled L/H Front then R/h front....L/H rear then R/H rear.
    bleeding should be done left rear right rear left front right front..try re bleeding as you will still have air in the system causing spongy brakes.

Sandman Guru
    As Greg says. Plus make sure your master cylinder is not arse about. Later ones have the small (rear circuit) reservoir at the front but they don't move the brake line connection thread with it. The new cylinder I got for my HJ Premier was like that.

When you bleed and think you are finished removing all air from each bleed point you have to get someone to hold their foot on the pedal before you do up the bleed point.

Cruiser
    Quote Originally Posted by HK1837 View Post