Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Our little 253's

Leadfoot

Our little 253's

:gday:

I couldn't think of a better place to discuss the great little engine.. the holden 253. I have researched this in a lot of other forums and found that people get crucified for even mentioning giving the 253 V8 the time of day.

Any suggestions my plan is for a cruiser mostly with fuel consumption in mind but i would love for my van to have a bit of poke about it. I don't want a HP hero and i have no experience in building engines so I'm not sure how far to go.

Does anyone know how the stroker kits go? either 286 or the 310.

Still in the planning stage of my rebuild. So far you have swayed me towards an M20 and a 3.36 LSD diff.:shifty:

I am also very interested on what combinations you are running
    Black WB bodied HZ panelvan with a 400 chev called Frankie :nerviness:

Aquarious HX windowless Kingswood project.

Nothing at all wrong with a 253, driven them all over NSW. Had all the power I required for overtaking on the open road, it had a 4 speed.
    "Proud To Be An Old Fart".

Sandman Guru
    The reason why people give you a hard time is it costs less to build a 308 than a 253, and any money spent on performace upgrades comes for free with a 308! To be brutally honest though, if you want power and economy for a budget price and the car is already a V8 a VN-VP 304 and 4spd auto is the absolute best bang for buck. Just buy a good running engine, and if you are handy you can do most of the work yourself with not a huge expenditure over and above the original purchase expecially if you buy a whole car.

ive had a couple of cars over the years with mildly worked 253s and they would keep up with most 308s....good motor.just bagged out by men that cant really get in touch with themselves....

Sandman Guru